How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

This was another book club read, and one I knew nothing about before I read it. The blurb gives absolutely nothing away so I’m going to try not to either because a lot of the power of the book comes from the fact that you have no idea what’s coming when it hits you.

As a vague synopsis the book is told from the point of view of Daisy, a fifteen year-old New Yorker who is sent to stay with her aunt and cousins in England. And it goes from there…

The writing style grated on me at first but works well given the voice of the narrator – there’s very little punctuation, it’s a stream of consciousness narrative. She also has a tendency to capitalise seemingly random words but that works well for emphasising the bits that are important to Daisy. Once you’ve settled into this it becomes less of an issue.

It sounds odd to say it but overall I didn’t like this book, but do think it’s very good. I’m not sure what it is I don’t like about it – Daisy’s relationship with her cousin doesn’t bother me particularly, I like the characters and you find yourself quite drawn into it. I think possibly it suffered from being read immediately after This Thing of Darkenss which is one of the best books I’ve ever read, maybe I was making unfair comparisons. Maybe it’s just that it was an uncomfortable story. That said it’s a powerful story, there’s a lot in there and it really does make you think. I’d recommend it.

Leave a Reply

