Silent in the Sanctuary by Deanna Raybourn

I picked up Silent in the Grave, the first book in this series, following a glowing recommendation on another blog and I wasn’t disappointed. It started with a death, which turned out to have been a murder, and followed the investigation by Nicholas Brisbane, a slightly grouchy mysterious figure, and Lady Julia Grey, the victims wife. It was great, and I’d been very excited about reading the sequel.

Silent in the Sanctuary gets off to a necessarily gentler start – you can’t really start in the thick of the action in a sequel and it had to cover what Julia Grey had been up to, and manoeuvre her and Brisbane back together. It was well done, and the story didn’t lose anything for it. In fact I quite liked the chance to get to know the family and characters a bit better.

It didn’t take me long to read, mostly because I was enjoying it so much I raced my way through it. Grey and Brisbane are fantastic characters and work really well as a double act and the tension between them never gets tiresome or ridiculous – the will-they-won’t-they provides an edge to the story and a more pleasant backdrop to some of the grizzly goings on. The incidental characters are all likeable and believable. I didn’t guess whodunnit and there was plenty of humour along the way.

The next book in the series is due out in March I believe, and I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

