The Secret of Lost Things by Sheridan Hay

This is a book that caught my eye in Borders a couple of years ago but for some reason I didn’t buy it. I was reminded of it by LibraryThing (great website, but doing nothing to help me reduce the To Read pile!) and picked it up from the library.

The book is about Rosemary, a young girl from Tasmania who moves to New York following her mother’s death. She finds work in a second-hand book shop staffed by an eccentric collection of people. It’s great fun getting to know them and soaking up the atmosphere of the shop, and to watch Rosemary develop in confidence as she experiences all of the early adulthood milestones like falling in love.

I really enoyed this book, it has the perfect pace and atmosphere to just curl up with it and enjoy the ride. I’ll probably be buying my own copy because it’s great comfort reading.

Leave a Reply

