The Shop on Blossom Street by Debbie Macomber

I’m actually not sure where I got this recommendation from, I suspect it was LibraryThing because they usually are. I’ve had it from the library for a while now and hadn’t quite been in the mood for it, but picked it up last night when I needed something light and fluffy.

This book is the first in a series and is about the lives of four women who meet when one of them opens a yarn shop on Blossom Street and decides to run a beginners knitting class. The four women are very different, and the book explores the development of their friendship and their lives away from the knitting group.

I really enjoyed this, I was really drawn in and liked all the characters to the extent that it nearly made me cry on the train. The writing wasn’t always perfect, and there were a couple of bits that just wouldn’t happen in real life but I read for escapism so that didn’t bother me – I’ve given it 5/5 because I enjoyed it so much. I have the next one in the series on hold at the library, and have come away with the urge to learn to knit.

Leave a Reply

